
Nebraska Section, Rules and

Regulations

Tutorial



PRESENTED BY

Tom Christopherson

Nebraska Health and Human Services  

Water Well Standards Section  

Program Manager



Rules and Regulations of the  

State of Nebraska for Wells and  

Pumps.

◼ Article 12- State statue

◼ Title 178 - regulations

◼ NAC 10- License required, penalties,

CEU’s, Exams

◼ NAC 11- Fees

◼ NAC 12- Construction standards

◼ NAC 13- Licensing Board



Article 12 - State Statute

◼ Water Well Standards and Contractors’

Licensing Act

◼ Sections 46-1201 / 46-1241

◼ Matrix of Title 178 regulations

◼ Passed in 1986

◼ Features 4 distinct purposes-46-1202



46-1202, Purpose of the Act

◼ Provide protection of ground water…

Licensing of contractors

◼ Protect the health and welfare of the citizens

of the State

◼ Protect ground water resources…  

construction standards…decommissioning

◼ Provide data …well logs,and registration



Title 178 - NAC 10

◼ Scope and Authority (UCA-WWSCLA)

◼ Definitions,

◼ Continuing education program,

◼ Provider,

◼ Certificate or proof of attendance.



Title 178 - NAC 10

002 - Definitions,

◼ Business engaged… Water Wells… Pumps and

Pumping Equipment.

◼ Licensed Water Well/Pump installation,  

Contractor- Telecommunication required.  

Licensed Supervisor, Water Well Monitoring  

Technician- know the limitations.

◼ Person.



Title 178 - NAC 10 - Licensure
When a License is required - 003.01

◼ “A water well must be constructed, pumps and pumping equipment  

must be installed and repaired onsite and water wells decommissioned  

in accordance with Title 178 NAC 10 and 12…”

◼ 003.02

◼ “… a water well may only be opened or the seal broken by;

◼ “ licensed contractor or supervisor…

◼ Landowner, farm ranching, place of abode…

◼ Licensed water well monitoring technician, natural resources  

groundwater technician…

◼ Licensed public water supply systems operator…

◼ State electrical inspector.”



Title 178 NAC 10 – Licensure

003.03-003.09

◼ Licensed contractor- authority over licensed  

supervisors/ unlicensed employees within the  

same business;

◼ Licensed supervisor- must work under authority of

the contractor

◼ Licensed technician- no supervisory authority

◼ Landowner may construct their own well, install  

pump, decommission sand points wells only, if  

place of abode- farming-other ag purposes.



Title 178 - NAC 10- License

Qualifications – 004.01

◼ Age of Majority-19

◼ Good moral character

◼ Proof of citizenry-birth certificate, passport

◼ Pass the exam- 70%

◼ Pay the fees

◼ Proof of insurance -Contractors license only

◼ Comply with the Act



Title 178 - NAC 10- License

Qualifications – 004.02
◼ Application forms

◼ Initial- written on forms provided

◆ Personal info, practice before application, other state  

certifications

◆Good moral character, history of any discipline, history  

of conviction,

◆ Proof of citizenry – passport, birth certificate, Social  

Security number…

◼ License fee- $150.00



Title 178 - NAC 10- License

Qualifications – 004.03-09

◼ 004.03-Department review-150 day limit

◼ 004.04- Denial of Credential

◆Failure to meet qualifications, fraud etc.

◼ 004.05- Withdrawn application- Refund fee

less $25.00-($150 -$25= $125)

◼ 004.06-Prior practice- fine $10.00 per day

◼ 004.07- Confidentiality- Personal  

information is protected



Title 178 - NAC 10- License

Qualifications – 004.03-09

◼ 004.08- Address information- Must give

correct address , notify Dept of changes…

◼ 004.09- Non-English documents- Foreign  

language documents must be accompanied  

by notarized original translation to English



Title 178 NAC 10- Licensure-

005- Exams

◼ Type of Exam- multiple choice 50 Question

◼ passing scores- 70%

◼ Study guides or review material

◼ Hardship license- Replace a license who

dies…

◼ Security of the exam

◼ Procedures

◼ Time and date



NAC 10- CEU requirements-006

◼ 12 hours of CEU’s on  

or before Dec 31 of  

the full second year

◼ Affidavit certifying  

attendance to any CEU  

program on or before  

Dec 31 of the renewal  

period

◼ Maintain a record of

classes attended

◼ Verify with the board  

approval of classes for  

CEU’s

◼ Maintain  

Documentation of  

attendance



Title 178 - NAC 10- CEU

Approval -007

◼ General Requirements
◆ Must relate to groundwater industry, regulatory subject specific to

Nebraska

◆ Qualified presenters-bios

◆ Proof of attendance- printed/electronic sign –in sheets, certificates

◆ Dates and location

Application- attachment II

◆ Providers name address and contact info

◆ Requester name address and contact info

◆ Description of content

◆ Number of hours requested



Title 178 - NAC 10 -CEU

Program Approval-007

◼ Requirement for approval

◼ Post program approval-within 1 year of  

original program / class

◼ Prior approval

◼ Record keeping

◼ Exemptions from CEU- board approval



Title 178 - NAC 10 -Licensure

◼ RENEWAL-008

◼ Expiration date- Dec 31 each even year

◼ Proper fees are paid

◼ Late renewal, date , fee- $35.00

◼ CEU’s requirement - 12 hours in two years

◼ Application same requirements as initial



Title 178 - NAC 10- Licensure

◼ DISCIPLINARY ACTION- 009

◼ Department may deny, refuse renewal,  

suspend, limit, or revoke for the following  

offense….(28 offenses ) Violation of the act  

or standards… Failure to report unregistered  

wells 46-604

◼ Procedure if denied, refused renewal,  

suspends or revoked



Title 178 - NAC 10- Licensure

009.05

◼ PENALTIES

◼ Censure- least severe

◼ Probation

◼ Limit the scope of license

◼ Civil penalty ( fine )

◼ Suspension

◼ Revocation, or Dismissal- most severe



Title 178 - NAC 10- Licensure

◼ Other Sanctions

◼ Class II , Class III misdemeanor

◼ Licensed contractor penalty- Criminal

$500.00 and Class III misdemeanor / Civil

$500.00 per day

◼ Unlicensed contractor penalty- Criminal

$1000.00 and Class II misdemeanor / Civil

$1000.00 per day



Title 178 - NAC 10- Licensure

◼
◼Right to a hearing - using evidence

◼ Failure to appear after hearing request

◼ Appeal of order/ judgement

◼ Cost of proceedings- ( loser pays )



Title 178 - NAC 10- Voluntary

Surrender- 010

◼ Personal information

◼ Credential being surrendered

◆Time of surrender-length of surrender

◆Permanent- or temporary

Attestation

◆ Swear all info is accurate

◆Sign and date application



Title 178 - NAC 10 Licensure

◼ REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE,

CERTIFICATE- 011

◼ Application –same as initial

◼ Eligibility expired or inactive status

◼ After Disciplinary Action- hearing

◼ Reinstatement after expiration- retake test



Title 178-NAC 10-Licensure

Summary

◼ Who needs a license- Landowner?

Professional?

◼ How to get a license

◼ What kind of license to get

◼ How to renew a license

◼ How to lose a license

◼ How to get a license back-reinstatement



Title 178-NAC 10

Summary

◼ Continuing Education

◆Program-program provider- required hours

◆CEU approval

◼ Fee’s

◆Licenses

◆Late renewal



Title 178 - NAC 11 - Fees-006

◼ Board sets fees for:

◼ Licenses

◼ Well registrations

◼ Late renewal fees- $35.00

◼ Declaratory Orders-$100.00

◼ Variances -$100.00



Title 178 - NAC 13

◼ Board members - Term of service

◆5 year terms

◼ Make up of the board- Governor Appointee

◆10 members- 6 industry, 4 governmental

◼ Duties and functions;

◆Approve CEU’s… develop regulations…  

exams.
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The End

Any Questions????????


