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This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on an agency until amended by such agency. A guidance 
document does not include internal procedural documents that only affect the internal operations of the agency and 

does not impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules 

and regulations made in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this guidance document 

imposes additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties, you may request a review of the document. 

16-022 February 2022 

 

Overview of NDEE Air, AFO, 
and Wastewater Permitting Programs 

Do you own a business or plan on starting a new business? Are you expanding, installing new 
equipment, or making changes to your existing business? If so, you may need to apply for 
environmental permits issued by the Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy (NDEE). 

Permits are often required for facility construction, as well as water discharges and air 
emissions that exceed regulatory thresholds. Some permits must be obtained before starting 
most construction activities. This document summarizes information about possible air, 
wastewater, and animal feeding operation (AFO) permits that may pertain to your facility. 

Permits Issued by the Air Quality Division 

NDEE's Air Quality Division issues two types of permits – air construction permits for new or 
modified construction of air contaminant sources or emission units and air operating permits 
for the operation of sources of certain air pollutants. Both permits are covered by Nebraska 
Title 129 – Air Quality Regulations. 

State air construction permits cover common process activities and units, which have the 
potential to generate emissions of regulated air pollutants above thresholds found in Chapter 
17 of Title 129. For most application submittals, expect permit issuance to take six to 15 
months. The application process includes a public comment period of 30 days. Federal air 
construction permits can take 15 to 18 months for issuance as an additional review by the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency is required. 

For most applications paper submittal is required. However, general air construction permitting 
for common activities or processes, such as emergency engines, incinerators, concrete batch 
plants, and crushers can now be done online. To minimize the time it takes for NDEE to prepare 
the construction permit, the Air Quality Division strongly recommends a project planning 
meeting and a pre- application meeting. The pre-application meeting should occur one to three 
months prior to submitting the application and the application should be near completion at 
the time of the meeting. 

Air construction permit applications range from: 

 $250 if less than 50 tons per year of any single regulated air pollutant (excluding HAPs); 
or less than 

 2.5 tons per year of any single hazardous air pollutant (HAP); or less than 10 tons per 
year of any combination of HAPs. 

http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_129.xsp
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_129.xsp
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_129.xsp
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/pages/129-Ch-17
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/pages/129-Ch-17
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 $1500 if 50 tons or more but less than 100 tons per year of any single regulated air 
pollutant (excluding HAPs); or 2.5 tons or more but less than 10 tons per year of any 
single HAP; or 10 tons or more but less than 25 tons per year of any combination of 
HAPs. 

 $3000 if 100 tons or more per year of any single regulated air pollutant (excluding 
HAPs); or 10 tons or more per year of any single HAP; or 25 tons or more per year of any 
combination of HAPs. 

A facility may need an air operating permit if their emissions exceed the thresholds below, or if 
they have an incinerator (all incinerators need to obtain an operating permit regardless of the 
quantity of their emissions). 

A Class I source or major source has the potential-to-emit (PTE) quantities greater than: 

 100 tons per year (tpy) of certain criteria air pollutants (particulate matter less than 10 
microns, nitrogen oxides, sulfur oxides, carbon monoxides, volatile organic compounds); 

 10 tpy of any single hazardous air pollutant (HAP) or 25 tpy of a combination of HAPs; or 

 5 tpy of lead. 

The state minor source program (also known as Class II) regulates smaller sources of air 
pollution. There are two classifications for minor sources: synthetic minor and natural minor. 
Synthetic minor sources are those that have potential emissions above Class I emission levels 
(see above) but have taken federally enforceable limits to keep their emissions below those 
Class I emission levels. Natural minor sources have potential emissions below the Class I 
emission levels and have actual emissions above fifty percent of Class I emission levels: 

 50 tpy of criteria pollutant except lead; 

 5 tpy of any single hazardous air pollutant (HAP) or 12.5 tons per year of a combination 
of HAPs; or 

 2.5 tpy of lead. 

Potential emissions are based on operating the unit or source of the air pollutants 24 hours per 
day at maximum capacity for twelve months or 8,760 hours per year. Most operating permits 
take 12 to 24 months for issuance after being assigned to an NDEE permit writer. 

If you need an air quality operating permit, you need to submit the appropriate application 
forms within 12 months after the emissions unit(s) begin operation or 12 months of 
becoming subject to the operating permit requirements, whichever is earlier. 
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Table 1: Air Permits Summary 
 

Permit Type Timeframe 
Application 

Process 
Application 

Fees 

Public 
Comment 

Period 

State Air Construction - 
Source Specific 

6-15 months 
paper 

submittal 
$250, $1500, or 

$3000 

yes 

Federal Air 
Construction - Source 

Specific 
15-18 months 

paper 
submittal 

yes 

Air Construction - 
General 

5 days online 

New Sources: 
$250 

Existing Sources: 
$250, $1,500, or 

$3,000 

no 

Air Operating Permits - 
Source Specific 

12 to 24 
months after 
assignment 

paper 
submittal 

$0 yes 

 

Permits Issued by the NPDES and State Permits Section 

If a facility discharges pollutants into any waters of the state, they are required to apply for and 
have a permit under the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES). This also 
includes discharges by significant industrial users to a publicly owned treatment works 
(POTW). The state regulation pertaining to these programs is Nebraska Title 119 - Rules and 
Regulations Pertaining to the Issuance of Permits under the National Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System. 

An NPDES Construction Storm Water Notice-of-Intent is needed if construction disturbs more 
than one acre of land. The application process is done solely on-line, and typically is issued in 
one day unless a more detailed review by the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission is 
required, in which case it may take up to 30 days for issuance. Development of a storm water 
pollution prevention plan that addresses erosion and sediment control is a primary condition 
of this permit. There is no public comment period associated with this permit for individual 
applicants as the general permit has already gone through the public review process, and no 
application fees are associated with this permit. 

NPDES Industrial Storm Water General Permits cover industry-specific requirements for storm 
water exposed to specific conditions. If your facility stores materials outdoors or has trash 
canisters or other sources which can potentially create water pollution, should they be exposed 
to rain events, you may need to obtain an Industrial Storm Water Notice-of-Intent. The 
permitting process typically takes 30 days and is completed via the online portal. As with 
construction storm water permits, the development of a storm water pollution prevention plan 
addressing storm water runoff and exterior housekeeping is a primary condition of this permit. 
Again, there is no public comment period associated with this permit for individual applicants, 
and no application fees are associated with this permit. 

http://dee.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/AirCPP
http://deq.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/AirCPP
http://dee.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/AirCPP
http://dee.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/AirCPP
http://deq.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/AirCPP
http://deq.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/AirCPP
http://dee.ne.gov/publica.nsf/PubsForm.xsp?documentId=2DECBA28B55FE6F186257F33005CC8C7&action=openDocument
http://dee.ne.gov/publica.nsf/PubsForm.xsp?documentId=2DECBA28B55FE6F186257F33005CC8C7&action=openDocument
http://dee.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/AirOPP
http://deq.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/AirOPP
http://deq.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_119.xsp
http://deq.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_119.xsp
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_119.xsp
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_119.xsp
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Any direct discharges of process wastewater (includes any water that comes into contact with 
the product, co-products that can become a wastewater, and other wash and cleaning water) 
and non- contact process wastewater (includes cooling water, reverse osmosis or softener 
reject water, boiler blow down water, or cooling tower blowdown water) to surface waters of 
the state of Nebraska require an NPDES Direct Discharge permit. These permits can take up to 
180 days for issuance, and there are no fees associated with this permit. 

An NPDES Dewatering General Permit is required for groundwater dewatering on an industrial 
site during construction. There is no charge for these permits, which includes a paper 
application process with permits being issued within 30 days of application submittal. 

A General NPDES Permit Authorizing Hydrostatic Test Discharges from Pipelines and Storage 
Tanks. Again, there are no fees for this permit, and issuance is within 30 days of receiving an 
application. 

If your facility is classified as a Significant Industrial User, and you are discharging to municipal 
treatment works, you are required to have an NPDES Pretreatment Permit. Certain Standard 
Industrial Classification (SIC) and North America Industry Classification System (NAICS) 
sources are automatically classified as Significant Industrial Users. 

Additionally, if your facility supplies five percent of the daily load to a POTW or has a flow or 
25,000 gallons or more per day, you will need a pretreatment permit. The application review 
process can take up to 180 days and is done via paper submittal. Although there are no fees 
associated with this permit, the application process does include a public comment period. 

NPDES Discharge for Land Application permits are covered under Nebraska Title 119 - Rules 
and Regulations Pertaining to the Issuance of Permits under the National Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System. 

The permit will be issued after construction of livestock. There is no application fee for this 
permit application (done via paper submittal); however, there is a public comment period as 
part of the 180-day permit issuance timeframe. The permit will require annual soil monitoring, 
agronomic rate application, site approval and wastewater testing. It will also require an annual 
report from a certified agronomist. 

  

https://www.osha.gov/pls/imis/sicsearch.html
http://www.census.gov/naics/
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Table 2: NPDES Permits Summary 
 

Permit Type Timeframe 
Application 

Process 
Application Fees 

Public 
Comment 

Period 

NPDES Direct 
Discharge of 
Wastewater 

Up to 180 days 
paper 

submittal 
$0 yes 

NPDES Construction 
Stormwater 

One day unless 
Game and 

Parks review 
required, then 

30 days 

online $0 no 

NPDES Industrial 
Stormwater 

30 days online $0 no 

NPDES Dewatering 30 days 
paper 

submittal 
$0 no 

NPDES Hydrostatic 
Testing 

30 days 
paper 

submittal 
$0 no 

NPDES Pretreatment 
Program 

Up to 180 days 
paper 

submittal 
$0 yes 

NPDES Discharge for 
Land Application – 

Domestic Wastewater 
Up to 180 days 

paper 
submittal 

$0 yes 

NPDES Discharge for 
Land Application – 

Industrial Wastewater 
Up to 180 days 

paper 
submittal 

$0 yes 

 

Permits Issued by the Water Quality Division Regarding Wastewater Treatment 

Construction and use of any on-site wastewater treatment systems, including septic tanks, 
holding tanks, small lagoons, and other decentralized wastewater treatment systems not 
typically connected to a municipal wastewater treatment system, require a permit issued under 
Nebraska Title 124 – Rules and Regulations for the Design, Operation and Maintenance of On-
site Wastewater Treatment Systems, under any of the following conditions: 

 the domestic wastewater design flow is greater than 1,000 gallons per day, 

 the design flow includes any wastewater other than domestic wastewater, and 

 the system does not meet all provisions for design, setback distances, and reserve 
area included in Title 124. 

http://dee.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/NPDES
http://dee.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/NPDES
http://dee.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/NPDES
http://dee.ne.gov/Publica.nsf/pages/WAT012
http://deq.ne.gov/Publica.nsf/pages/WAT012
http://dee.ne.gov/Publica.nsf/pages/WAT011
http://deq.ne.gov/Publica.nsf/pages/WAT011
http://dee.ne.gov/Publica.nsf/pages/WAT179
http://dee.ne.gov/Publica.nsf/pages/WAT180
http://dee.ne.gov/Publica.nsf/pages/WAT180
http://dee.ne.gov/Publica.nsf/Pages/WAT049
http://deq.ne.gov/Publica.nsf/Pages/WAT049
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/pages/119-Ch-12
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/pages/119-Ch-12
http://deq.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/pages/119-Ch-12
http://deq.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/pages/119-Ch-12
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/pages/119-Ch-12
http://dee.ne.gov/Publica.nsf/Pages/WAT047
http://dee.ne.gov/Publica.nsf/Pages/WAT047
http://dee.ne.gov/Publica.nsf/Pages/WAT047
http://dee.ne.gov/Publica.nsf/Pages/WAT047
http://deq.ne.gov/Publica.nsf/Pages/WAT047
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_124.xsp
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_124.xsp
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Proposed onsite wastewater treatment systems that are not subject to these conditions may 
be constructed under Authorization by Rule. The application process is done via paper and 
requires a $450 application fee. While there is not a public comment period with issuance of 
this permit, professional certification by the State of Nebraska for the system installer is 
required. 

Should your facility have an on-site wastewater system that is designed for 20 or more people 
or for a flow of more than 1,000 gallons per day, or receive any wastewater other than domestic 
wastewater, in addition to a Title 124 permit you will need to obtain an Underground Injection 
Class V Well Authorization, issued under Nebraska Title 122 – Rules and Regulations for 
Underground Injection and Mineral Production Wells. The review process takes 30 days, and 
the Department will determine if a Class V Injection Well Permit is required. A $500 fee applies 
if a permit is required. Otherwise, an Authorization has no fee. 

A Wastewater Construction Permit, required under Nebraska Title 123 – Rules And Regulations 
For The Design, Operation And Maintenance Of Wastewater Works, is required for construction 
of municipal, industrial, and commercial wastewater treatment facilities and sanitary sewer 
lines. Plans must be developed and submitted by a Professional Engineer registered in 
Nebraska. If direct discharging is occurring, the application must be submitted with an NPDES 
application. There are no fees associated with this permit, and permitting timeframe is 30 days. 

Table 3: Wastewater Treatment Permits Summary 
 

Permit Type Timeframe 
Application 

Process 
Application 

Fees 

Public 
Comment 

Period 

On-site 
Wastewater 

(Septic) 

30 days 
comment or 

approve 
paper submittal $450 No 

Underground 
Injection Class V 

Well 

30 days 
comment or 

approve 
paper submittal 

$500 if permit 
required, 

otherwise 
Authorization has 

no fee ($0) 

No 

Wastewater 
Construction 

30 days 
comment or 

approve 
paper submittal $0 No 

 

Permits Issued by the Water Quality Division Agriculture Section 

An initial inspection of any proposed medium or large animal feeding operation (AFO) is 
required under Nebraska Title 130 – Livestock Waste Control Regulations. Small AFOs are 
exempt from any inspection requirements, provided they do not discharge pollutants to waters 
of the State. The inspection application process is done via paper submittal, and every effort 
will be made to complete the inspection within a timeframe of approximately 30 days following 
receipt of the application. 

http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_122.xsp
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_122.xsp
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_122.xsp
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_123.xsp
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_123.xsp
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_123.xsp
http://dee.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/Onsite
http://dee.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/Onsite
http://dee.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/Onsite
http://dee.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/UIC
http://dee.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/UIC
http://dee.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/UIC
http://dee.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/UIC
http://dee.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/WEM
http://dee.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/WEM
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_130.xsp
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The initial inspection determines whether or not livestock waste control facilities, a 
Construction and Operating Permit and/or NPDES Permit are required for the site. 

The application for inspection submittal requires a fee as follows: 

 $500 for large AFOs, 

 $200 for medium AFOs, and 

 $100 for small AFOs. 

Construction and Operating Permits for livestock waste control facilities at AFOs are covered 
under Nebraska Title 130 – Livestock Waste Control Regulations. These permits must be issued 
prior to an operation starting construction. In order to issue a permit, the Department must 
receive an application via paper submittal, along with a $200 application fee. 

There is a permit issuance timeframe of 110 days from the receipt of a complete application, 
and the application review process includes a public comment period. In certain instances, a 
permit may not be necessary, if special conditions are met. Regardless, the operation will need 
to send in a 'Request for Initial Inspection' and receive confirmation that a permit is required 
prior to submitting an application for a Construction and Operating Permit. 

NPDES permits for Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations (CAFOs) are covered under 
Nebraska Title 130 – Livestock Waste Control Regulations. An NPDES permit cannot be issued 
until the construction of livestock waste control facilities has been completed and verified by 
the Department. Coverage under NPDES general permits are available for CAFO operations 
confining cattle. For CAFO operations with animal species other than cattle, truck washes, or 
vegetative treatment areas, an NPDES individual permit will be required. An application via 
paper submittal, along with a $200 application fee, applies to either the general or individual 
permit. Typically, either permit will require 180 days for issuance. 

  

http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_130.xsp
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_130.xsp
http://dee.ne.gov/RuleAndR.nsf/Title_130.xsp


Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy 16-022 

16-022 Overview NDEE Air, AFO, Wastewater Permitting Programs page 8 of 8 

Table 4: Livestock Waste Control Program Permits Summary 
 

Permit Type Timeframe 
Application 

Process 
Application 

Fees 

Public 
Comment 

Period 

Initial Inspection of 
Animal Feeding 
Operation 

~ 30 days 
paper 
submittal 

$500 for large 
CAFOs, 
 
$200 for medium 
AFOs, and $100 for 
small AFOs. 

No 

Construction and 
Operating Permit for 
Livestock Waste Control 
Facilities 

110 days 
paper 
submittal 

$200 Yes 

NPDES General Permit 
for Concentrated Animal 
Feeding Operations 
Confining Cattle 

180 days 
paper 
submittal 

$200 Yes 

NPDES Individual Permit 
for Concentrated Animal 
Feeding Operations 

180 days 
paper 
submittal 

$200 Yes 

 

Resources 
 

Contact: 
Useful Websites: 

NDEE Home Page – http://dee.ne.gov 

Contacts: 
NDEE Main Line (402) 471-2186 

NDEE Air Quality Permit Hotline (877) 834-0474 
NDEE Hazardous Waste Compliance Assistance (402) 471-8308 
NDEE Small Business and Public Assistance (402) 471-8697 
NDEE Agriculture Section (402) 471-4239 

To view this, and other information related to our agency, visit our website http://dee.ne.gov. 

This material is intended for guidance purposes only. It is not meant to substitute for the 
regulations specified in the document, or any other applicable Nebraska environmental 
regulations. 

http://dee.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/LWCP
http://dee.ne.gov/
http://dee.ne.gov/

